Monthly Archives: February 2014

In Denial About My Son’s Attachment Struggles

  I never thought my son could have attachment issues because we adopted him as a newborn. I was quite wrong…. While waiting to adopt, I read many adoptive parenting books. There was always a section on attachment, and I always either skipped or quickly skimmed it, as I was adopting a newborn domestically. The

Looking for a good movie?

  Philomena is the true story of one mother’s search for her lost son. The movie partly filmed in County Down in Ireland, has been nominated for FOUR Oscars including best actress and best picture. It was also nominated for best original score and best adapted screenplay by writers Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope. The

A Lost Boy Finds His Calling

  The Incredible Story of a Romanian Orphan –Once Hidden from the World, Now Determined to Change it. Izidor Ruckel Quotes from Romania, Creating a DocumentarySaturday March 1, 2014 2:00-4:00pmDorothy Goff Recital Hall, Shattuck Music CenterCarroll University Waukesha, WI For more information on the event, click here   For more information on Izidor, click here

One agency, Multiple locations

As a reminder, as of May 31, 2013, Community Adoption Center and Adoption Choice, Inc. merged. The combined agencies are continuing to move forward together under the name Adoption Choice, Inc. Combining these two agencies provides customers of both organizations with an extensive portfolio of services as well as nonprofit status. Both agencies have been

2014 Educational Workshop Listing is here!

Adoptive Parent Education through Bethany   Families looking for education to satisfy their 18 hour pre-adoptive requirement or families looking for additional education related to adoption, can view the attached guide for available workshops throughout the state of Wisconsin.

Advocacy Day-Make a Difference

Make a Difference!   RESOLVE’s Advocacy Day is one of the most important days of the year Angie, you’re necessary to make an impact. On Wednesday, May 7, in Washington, D.C., women and men living with infertility, their friends and family, and healthcare professionals, will all come together and meet with Members of Congress about

WISE UP Conference

For the first time in Northeast Wisconsin!! W.I.S.E. UP The World About Adoption Conference Saturday, March 8th 9 am – 1:30 pm St. Norbert College Bemis Conference Center De Pere There will be a workshop for parents addressing common questions, fears, and concerns adopted children face, the dynamic between non-adopted peers, extended family, and even

Adoption Tax Credit Help

On February 20, at noon central (10 am pacific,11 am mountain, 1 pm eastern), NACAC’s Josh Kroll will present a webinar on how to file for the U.S. federal adoption tax credit. The focus will be on filing for 2013, but will also cover applying for the credit for adoptions as far back as 2005.