Are you familiar with the Safe Haven Laws?

Since1999, many states have enacted safe haven laws to encourage mothers in crisis to safely relinquish their babies to designated agencies where they will be safe until a permanent home can be found. These laws typically allow a parent to remain anonymous and be protected from abandonment charges.  To date, all 50 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico have safe haven laws.  
The laws vary from state to state. There are 19 states, where a child be relinquished up to 1 month old while another 12, plus Puerto Rico, allow babies up to 72 hours old to be left in a safe haven. Some states have longer time frames, such as Missouri and North Dakota allow for relinquishment up to 1 year of age.  Wisconsin’s Safe Haven Law allows babies up to 72 hours old to be relinquished by either parent.
The states also vary with respect to who can relinquish the baby. Some states allow either parent, some only allow the mother to relinquish the baby, while some states allow a third party and other states do not specify.
While the specifics vary from state to state, the purpose of the law is to provide a safe place for newborns who can be left with persons that can provide immediate care and for their well-being and safety.
For more specifics on the state laws, click here.